5 Fave Friday

kcroninbarrow-2014-happynewyearHappy New Year my friends!

I just don’t understand how it could possibly be the New Year already – but I have to admit, I’m actually a quite ready to roll into a fresh new start! 2013 held so many exciting things for us, new beginnings, moves, big projects (including our wedding), that it made it slightly difficult to relax and take breathers when I needed them. It could just be the enthusiasm of the first week of new resolutions, but much time this week was spent in my office. Writing, reflecting, filing, sorting & dreaming up my goals and ambitions for 2014.

I’m excited to share all these upcoming plans with you in the near future, but for now, here are my favourites for this week!

DSC_04141. The newly established Chilliwack Running & Wine club. Because you always need a little motivation to run, right? The club was born primarily out of a need to create accountability between a number of us that are looking to get a little more fit this year. For me, it’s more about establishing a routine and spending qualitytime with lovely ladies, but the toned legs and motivation to eat healthier is a more-than-welcome side product. We’re keeping it simple and only committing to one run a week (Saturdays at 9:30am), but we’ve decided to ‘throw in’ others when someone is heading out. That way, we have main days that work for everyone, and a few extra days where you might find a partner to go with you.All are welcome, so feel free to request to join the group if you are interested! We are primarily beginner runners, who will most likely bond over wise cracks on how slow we are. It will be a good time, and I’m looking forward to improving with these great ladies!

PL

2. Busting open my Project Life kit! I’ve been a long time admirer of Becky Higgens ever since my actively scrapbooking days – so I’ve been familiar with PL for some time now. Although, it’s only ever been available online, and the price + shipping always seemed to be a bit more than I felt it was worth. Imagine my surprise when, on my birthday, I stumbled across these kits front in centre at our local Michael’s store. At. 50%. Off. I nearly bought ever item they had in stock. It’s probably good that I didn’t. Anyways, I grabbed 2 core kits which consist of a collect of 4×6 & 3×6 coordinating papers, title cards & note cards, a 12×12 album, multi-design page protectors and a nifty little corner rounder.

IMG_3957

For those of you that aren’t familiar with this memory-keeping system, it is essentially a user friendly scrapbooking option that takes the guesswork out of page layout. Using the specialty page protectors, crafters pick and choose pre-cut papers, add a few photos, pen a little journalling… and you’re done! It can be as simple or as elaborate as you’d like it to be, which is why I love it! I will be journalling the whole year using this format, with one spread per week. Wish me luck on my adventure!

3. My favourite present from under the tree this Christmas, my Kindle! Once I finally figured out how to download and convert the books into a format that the kindle would read (which took forever), I was a happy lady. I’m currently loving curling up with my Kindle and disappearing into the world of District 13 and the Mockingjay’s progress in overthrowing the Capital. I’m already doing more reading than I was in 2013, and I like the way that feels.

My Social Book

4. My Social Book is so freaking cool! Ever wish you still got yearbooks at the end of every year, like back in school? Well, My Social Book is kind of like that! They created an easy way to convert the story of your life into a book, using your Facebook’s activity, photos & status updates. It even automatically grabs comments and likes from your friends and family. Granted, that can either be an excellent thing or a horrible thing, but guaranteed to be humorous nonetheless. A small part of me wants to order one for years way back in the day (maybe, circa 2008) so that I can hold onto those ridiculous updates of my early 20’s. Lord knows going down that rabbit hole on actual Facebook would result in many hours of wasted time, but when confined to a book there aren’t a million links begging me to click on!
Prices start at $12 CAN for a 25 page book (soft cover & hard cover options available) and right now they are offering a 30% discount on your first order.

Birthday

5. Birthday Surprises! This past weekend, Kayla, Daryl & Jess surprised me with a day of adventure for my birthday. Upon arriving into the dutiful decorated fun-mobile, I was presented with a tiara, a birthday pin and a tinkerbell fun cup to be utilized throughout the day. We visited Planet Lazer in Langley, shopped downtown Vancouver (and refilled my dangerously low Nespresso supply) and drank sweet sweet fresh marq’s at Las Margaritas – but the highlight of our adventure was our unforgettable dining experience at The Dark Table in Kitsilano.

The Dark Table is an adventure, indeed. Guests are ushered into a pitch black dining hall (by way a choo-choo train lead by their server), and enjoy their meal entirely in the dark! Before you get uncomfortable about the thought of eating in a dimly lit restaurant, let me assure you the food is delicious! Dishes are chosen from the menu outside the dining area, so you are able to choose exactly what you would like to eat prior to entering. Appetizers & desserts are the ‘secret of the day’ but commonly utilize everyday dishes such as salads and cheesecake. Watch for a full review coming up in the future, but I can tell you one thing. You will make a mess, you will probably eat with your hands, and you will certainly experience the most intimate dining experience you’ve ever had. Funny how you realize how distracted we are as a society, until you take away our phones and all visual stimulation. We will certainly be returning for another round!

The Dark Table is located at 2611 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver. Reservations are highly recommended, and can be made for either 5:45pm or 8:30pm on most nights.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “5 Fave Friday

  1. […] Life a few times on the blog, during the past few weeks. I gave a brief overview of it during in this Fave 5 post a few weeks ago, but I’ve been wanting to give it the true introduction that it […]

Leave a Reply

